top of page
  • Writer's picturejohn kepler

Controversial Penalty on 2-Point Conversion Leads Cowboys to Victory Against Lions

Dan Campbell IRATE after illegal touching call makes Lions re-try 2-PT conversion

Controversial Penalty on 2-Point Conversion Leads Cowboys to Victory Against Lions

The Detroit Lions gambled and seemed to get the 2-point conversion they needed for the win against the Dallas Cowboys on Saturday night. But somehow officials didn't register offensive lineman Taylor Decker reporting as eligible before he caught a pass.

That will lead to a long debate in the never-ending story of NFL officiating mistakes this season.

The Lions' 2-point conversion attempt with 23 seconds left that went for a score to Decker was wiped out due to an illegal touching penalty. The Lions had an extra offensive lineman, Dan Skipper, come in the game before the play, and three Lions linemen, including Decker, moved toward referee Brad Allen and seemed to say something, ESPN's replays showed. Decker was not announced as an eligible receiver, which meant he wasn't allowed to catch the go-ahead 2-point play. The score was taken off the board as Lions head coach Dan Campbell screamed at officials. That score would have put the Lions ahead 21-20 with just a few seconds left.

The Lions had two shots at the 2-point conversion after that, due to a Cowboys offsides penalty on the first attempt, but Goff threw incomplete on the last attempt and the Cowboys hung on to win 20-19.

Campbell made an aggressive call after the Lions scored a late touchdown and it seemed to work. But for some reason, Decker wasn't announced as eligible.

"All I really want to say on it, so I didn't get myself in trouble, is I did exactly what coach told me to do," Decker said, via Nolan Bianchi of Detroit News. "Went to the ref, said 'Report,' yeah. It was my understanding too that Dan brings up the possibility of those plays pregame. I did what I was told to do, did how we did it in practice all week."




bottom of page